What I do for Self-care?

I actually took time to do all things “self” today, so this is a rather timely topic. Self-care is paramount because as cliche as it sounds everything else should come after self. Not self-centeredness or even selfishness but self-prioritization. Most of us are in the habit of putting ourselves on the bottom of the list but in the long run, this takes its toll.

I pray, a whole lot. I do this because in prayer I can afford to be vulnerable, honest, feel, and say all things without fear of judgment or even being loved less. My shortcomings are accepted, my mess is corrected and mostly I am reassured of my identity. That is something I need every day.

I read, sing, dance, and write. I endeavour to read content that serves and nourishes my mental health. The same goes for the music I sing, listen to, and dance to. Writing, however, is different because my intentions are to always put up something that can help someone out there. However most times, I have no idea what I am writing until I am on this keyboard.

I do not involve myself in people’s businesses uninvited and mind with who I interact. This is crucial for me because I have witnessed what that does to people and relationships. Whether it’s marriage or a work colleague, I believe that everyone is entitled to their privacy until they deem it otherwise. I try to be there for my people when they need me but I also know when to give them space when they do not and vice versa. Believe it or not, this comes from a place of love, respect, and understanding of what works or doesn’t work for me.

I watch what I eat, how and when I do it. This has been a challenge lately because of the season we are in. More so because I am exploring more about food. Matter of fact, I have been looking to gain a little weight which in many ways I have the lockdown to thank for but I do it all in moderation.

Exercise, and care for my hair and skin. See a dentist as and when recommended, change my glasses when I need to, do mani-pedis as often as needed, and get enough rest.

PS; A chunk of these things has changed due to the lockdown but I make an effort to do as much as I can. I hope you are too.

Till next time!

One thought on “What I do for Self-care?

  1. Simply wish to say your article is as surprising.
    The clarity for your submit is simply excellent
    and that i could think you are an expert in this subject.
    Well together with your permission let me to take hold
    of your RSS feed to stay up to date with forthcoming post.

    Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment